The Best Of the 2010 ECWC

January 26, 2010

On Saturday, January 23, 2010, in a crowded Miller Auditorium, co-directors Sterling Watson and Dennis Lehane, announced the “Best Of” the 2010 workshops. Honorable Mentions will receive notation in SABAL Volume 5, and the “Best Of” will have the opportunity to revise based on the comments received in the workshops and then have their work published in the next issue of SABAL.

The 2010 Best Of


Faculty: (First Half taught by Beth Ann Fennelly, Second Half by Denise Duhamel)

Honorable Mention:
Joe Hart

Best Of:
Laura Roosevelt

Faculty: Ann Hood

Honorable Mention:
Marie Lathers

Best Of:
Sylvia Johnson

Faculty: Michael Koryta

Honorable Mention: TIE
Fred Mortimer & Penelope Tobias

Best Of:
Charlie Clark

Faculty: Tom Franklin

Honorable Mention: TIE
Eilene Pierson & Sanderia Smith

Best Of:
Joanna Powell

Faculty: Laura Lippman

Honorable Mention:
Giana Miniace

Best Of:
Kenny Lee

Faculty: Stewat O’Nan

Honorable Mention:
Lori Roy & Benjamin Pfeiffer

Best Of:
Gelareh Asayesh

Faculty: Sterling Watson

Honorable Mention:
Thomas Linville

Best Of:
Luis Castillo

Faculty: Dennis Lehane

Honorable Mention: TIE
Keturah Shaw-Poulos & Stephanie Willis

Best Of:
Xenia Lane

Congratulations to these individuals and to each person who participated in this year’s conference. Your energy and desire to learn more about the craft of writing made this conference an unforgettable experience.

What to do this week?

January 18, 2010

Come on out for the rest of the Eckerd College Writers’ Conference Evening Reading Series.

The Evening Reading Series featuring the Eckerd College Writers’ Conference faculty will be held in Miller Auditorium and is free and open to the public. Book sales and light refreshments will be available from 7:30-8:00 pm. Readings will begin at 8:00 pm. Featured authors will sign books at 9:00 pm after the readings.

Monday, January 18, 2010

Beth Ann Fennelly, POETRY

Beth Ann Fennelly received a 2003 National Endowment for the Arts Award and a 2006 United States Artist grant. She’s written three books of poetry, Open House; Tender Hooks; and Unmentionables; and a book of essays, Great With Child, all with W. W. Norton. She has three times been included in The Best American Poetry Series and is the winner of a Pushcart Prize and a Fulbright to Brazil. She teaches at the University of Mississippi.

Ann Hood’s books include: Somewhere Off the Coast of Maine; Waiting to Vanish; Three-Legged Horse; Something Blue; Places to Stay the Night; The Properties of Water; and Ruby. She has also written a memoir, Do Not Go Gentle: My Search for Miracles in a Cynical Time; a book on the craft of writing, Creating Character Emotions; and a collection of short stories, An Ornithologist’s Guide to Life. Most recently, her essays and short stories have appeared in Good Housekeeping, The New York Times, Ladies Home Journal, More, Tin House, Ploughshares, and The Paris Review. Ann has won a Best American Spiritual Writing Award, the Paul Bowles Prize for Short Fiction, a Best American Food Writing Award and two Pushcart Prizes. Her new novel, The Knitting Circle, was published in January 2007 and her memoir, Comfort: A Journey Through Grief, was published in May 2008.

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Tom Franklin, FICTION

Tom Frankin is the author of the short story collection, Poachers, and the novels Hell at the Breech and Smonk, all published by William Morrow.  Recipient of a 2001 Guggenheim Fellowship, he has been the Philip Roth Resident in Creative Writing at Bucknell Univeristy, the John and Renee Grisham Writer-in-Residence at the University of Mississippi, the Tennessee Williams Fellow at Sewanee and currently teaches in the MFA program at Ole Miss and lives in Oxford.  Married to the poet, Beth Ann Fennelly, he is at work on a new novel, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter.

Peter Meinke, POETRY

Peter Meinke currently is Distinguished Poet in Residence at Converse College, in Spartanburg, SC.  He has published 15 books of poems, seven in the prestigious Pitt Poetry Series; and his most recent collection (2009) is Lines from Neuchatel, illustrated by his wife, Jeanne.  His latest short story collection is Unheard Music.  Last year he was appointed St. Petersburg’s first ever Poet Laureate.

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

No readings.

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Denise Duhamel, POETRY

Denise Duhamel’s most recent books are Ka-Ching!; Two and Two; Mille et un Sentiments; Queen for a Day: Selected and New Poems; The Star-Spangled Banner; and Kinky. A bilingual edition of her poems, Afortunada de mí (Lucky Me), translated into Spanish by Dagmar Buchholz and David Gonzalez, was published in 2008 by Bartleby Editores (Madrid). A recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship, she is an associate professor at Florida International University in Miami.

Sheri Reynolds, FICTION

Sheri Reynolds is a professor of writing and literature at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia. She is the author of The Rapture of Canaan (an Oprah’s Book Club selection), Bitterroot Landing, A Gracious Plenty, and Firefly Cloak. She lives in Cape Charles, Virginia. For more information, visit her online at

Friday, January 22, 2010

Michael Koryta, FICTION and NONFICTION

Michael Koryta is the author of five novels, including Envy the Night, which won the 2008 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for best mystery/thriller. His work has been translated into 20 languages, won the Great Lakes Book Award, and earned nominations for the Edgar, Quill and Shamus awards. Formerly an award-winning newspaper reporter, Michael has also worked as a private investigator, and taught journalism at Indiana University.

Laura Lippman, FICTION

Laura Lippman has been awarded the Edgar, Anthony, Agatha, Shamus, Nero Wolfe, Gumshoe, Quill, and Barry awards. She also has been nominated for other prizes in the crime fiction field, including the Hammett and the Macavity. She was the first-ever recipient of the Mayor’s Prize for Literary Excellence in Baltimore and the first genre writer recognized as Author of the Year by the Maryland Library Association. Her works of fiction include: Baltimore Blues; Charm City; Butchers Hill; In Big Trouble; The Sugar House; In a Strange City; The Last Place; Every Secret Thing; By a Spider’s Thread; To the Power of Three; No Good Deeds; What the Dead Know; Another Thing to Fall; Hardly Knew Her; and Life Sentences. She lives in Baltimore.

Saturday, January 23, 2010


Since Dennis Lehane’s first novel, A Drink Before the War, won the Shamus Award, he has published seven more novels with William Morrow & Co. that have been translated into more than 30 languages and become international bestsellers: Darkness, Take My Hand; Sacred; Gone Baby Gone; Prayers for Rain; Mystic River; Shutter Island; and The Given Day. Morrow also published Coronado, a collection of five stories and a play, and both Mystic River and Gone Baby Gone have been made into award-winning films.  In February 2010, Columbia Pictures will release the motion picture adaptation of Shutter Island, directed by Martin Scorsese and starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Ben Kingsley, and Mark Ruffalo.

Questions regarding the Evening Reading Series can be directed to:

Conference Coordinator, Christine Caya


Phone: 727-864-7994

Bobby Sauro

January 5, 2010

WIP Alumnus, Bobby Sauro, has a story, “My Body Does Not Float”  featured in the January 2010 issue of the online literary journal elimae. You can check out his story here.

Congrats, Bobby!