2013 Best Of

January 30, 2013

On Saturday, January 26, 2013, conference co-director, Sterling Watson, announced the “Best Of” the 2013 Eckerd College Writers’ Conference: Writers in Paradise. Those selected for “Best Of” honors will have a chance to revise their manuscripts based on the feedback received in workshop and have their work published in SABAL the literary journal featuring the best writing of the Writers in Paradise writers’ conference.

Congrats to all!


Novel I – Tom Franklin

Honorable Mention: Kathleen Nicklaus

Best Of: Siena


Novel II – Ann Hood

Honorable Mention: Ana Munro Davis

Best Of: Swan Huntley


Novel III – Laura Lippman

Honorable Mention: Scott Scheible

Best Of: Kathleen Rowell


Poetry – Beth Ann Fennelly

Honorable Mention: Jacob Allgeier

Best Of: Laura Roosevelt


Short Story I – Andre Dubus III

Honorable Mention: Andrew Harlan

Best Of: Tracy Bird


Short Story II – Stewart O’Nan

Honorable Mention: Kate LeSar

Best Of: Eric Gerard


Nonfiction – Les Standiford

Honorable Mention: Barbara Riddle-Dvorak

Best Of: Laura Keane


Young Adult Writing – David Yoo

Honorable Mention: TIE Rachel Shapiro & Susan Banghart

Best Of: Katie McCarthy

This was truly a special week and would not have been possible without the 89 writers who came to join us from all over the country, from every walk of life, all arriving at Eckerd College with open hearts, open minds, and a generosity of spirit which seems unparalleled. We hope that each writer left with a greater understanding of his or her work and the tools to move forward and take their writing to the next level.

We are honored to have spent a week with such a talented and passionate group of writers.


2013 Evening Reading Series Schedule

January 11, 2013

2013 Evening Reading Series

Readings will begin at 8:00 pm and will be followed by author signings. Books will be available for purchase. All readings will take place in Miller Auditorium at Eckerd College and include a wine and cheese reception in the Miller Auditorium lobby before each reading, 7:30-8:00 pm. The Eckerd College Writers’ Conference Evening Reading Series events are free and open to the public. No tickets or reservations are required. For further information, contact Christine Koryta at 727-864-7994. Events are subject to change.

2013 Eckerd College Writers’ Conference Evening Reading Series:

Saturday, January 19
Ann Patchett with Q&A moderated by Dennis Lehane

Sunday, January 20
Tracy Crow, Les Standiford and Sterling Watson

Monday, January 21
Beth Ann Fennelly and Peter Meinke

Tuesday, January 22
Dennis Lehane

Wednesday, January 23*
Daniel Woodrell with Q&A moderated by Michael Koryta

Thursday, January 24
Stewart O’Nan and David Yoo

Friday, January 25
Tom Franklin and Ann Hood

Saturday, January 26
Andre Dubus III and Laura Lippman

*The Daniel Woodrell reading on Wednesday, January 23, followed by a Q&A with Michael Koryta will be a College Program Series Event.