The Missouri Review – Editors’ Prize

May 22, 2012

Editors’ Prize Guidelines

22nd Annual
Jeffrey E. Smith
Editors’ Prize in
Fiction, Essay and Poetry
Not Just Any Contest!

Select winning entries in the past have been reprinted in the Best American series.

$5,000 Fiction | $5,000 Poetry | $5,000 Essay  

Deadline: October 1, 2012.

Submit online now.

Or download the entry form (PDF) for print submissions.

Interested in reading a past Jeffrey E. Smith Editor’s Prize winner? Check out the essays “Big Jim,” “Letters to David,” and “My Thai Girlfriends” on textBOX, the Missouri Review’s free online anthology:

Complete Guidelines

(No other information is needed to enter)

  • Page restrictions: Please include no more than 25 typed, double-spaced pages for fiction and nonfiction. Poetry entries can include any number of poems up to 10 pages in total. Each story, essay, or group of poems constitutes one entry.
  • Entry fee: $20 for each entry (make checks payable to The Missouri Review). Each fee entitles the entrant to a one-year subscription to TMR in print or digital format (for a free sample of a digital issue, go here!), an extension of a current subscription, or a gift subscription. Please enclose a complete address for subscriptions.
  • Entry instructions (for mailed entries): Include the printable contest entry form. On the first page of each submission, include author’s name, address, e-mail and telephone number. Entries must be previously unpublished and will not be returned. We accept simultaneous submissions but ask for immediate notification if the piece is accepted for publication elsewhere. Mark the outside of the envelope “Fiction,” “Essay,” or “Poetry.” Each entry in a separate category must be mailed in a separate envelope. Enclose a #10 SASE or e-mail address for an announcement of winners.
  • Eligibility: Previous winners of the Editors’ Prize and previous employees of TMR are ineligible. Previous finalists, however, may enter again.
  • Mailing address:
    Missouri Review Editors’ Prize
    357 McReynolds Hall
    University of Missouri
    Columbia, MO 65211
  • Go Green: Enter Online! We are also accepting electronic submissions.

Download the entry form for print submissions.

The postmark deadline is Oct. 1, 2012. The winners will be announced in January 2013.

If you have any questions regarding the Editors’ Prize Contest, please feel free to e-mail us at:

Angie Jones

May 17, 2012

Congrats to ECWC alumna Angela Masterson Jones who will graduate from the Eckerd College Program for Experienced Learners this Sunday, May 20, 2012. This year, Eckerd College will be streaming live video of the Commencement Ceremony. You’ll be able to watch the festivities here:

Congrats, Angie! All of the hard work has paid off!

Call for Submissions

May 15, 2012
Accepting short fiction & poetry, creative nonfiction, interviews, social justice concerns, spiritual insights for Ginosko Literary Journal.
Editorial lead time 1-2 months; accept simultaneous submissions & reprints; length flexible, accept excerpts. Receives postal submissions & email—prefer email submissions as attachments in Microsoft Works Word Processor, Rich Text Format or Word. Copyright reverts to author. Read year around.
Publishing as semiannual ezine. Check downloadable issues on website for tone & style,   Downloads free, accept donations.
ezine circulation  8000+. Website traffic 500-750 hits/month.
Also looking for books, art, music to post on website, and links to exchange.
Ads in issues:  $80 1/8 page, $120 1 / 4 page.
Ginosko (ghin-océ-koe)
To perceive, understand, realize, come to know; knowledge that has an inception, a progress, an attainment. The recognition of truth by experience.
Member CLMP.  Est 2003.
Ginosko Literary Journal
Robert Paul Cesaretti, Editor
PO Box 246
Fairfax, CA 94978

Melanie Neale McLendon

May 14, 2012

ECWC alumna Melanie Neale McLendon’s memoir, “Boat Girl: A Memoir of Youth, Love, and Fiberglass”, has been accepted for publication by Beating Windward Press. As soon as a publication date is confirmed, we’ll post the good news here so fans and friends of Melanie can pre-order the book.

Congrats, Mel! We’re so happy for you!

Sandra Lambert

May 10, 2012

ECWC alumna Sandra Lambert has been accepted at the prestigious Yaddo. Sandra will be at Yaddo for a six week residency this summer.

Congrats, Sandra! Write on!

Lori Roy

May 8, 2012

ECWC alumna Lori Roy has just sold her second novel, WHERE GOOD PEOPLE WALK, to Dutton. Ms. Roy will once again be working with editor, Denise Roy. WHERE GOOD PEOPLE WALK is slated for publication in the summer of 2013.

Lori’s first novel with Dutton, BENT ROAD, was a New York Times Notable Crime Book of 2011 and also won the Edgar Award for Best First Mystery Novel.

Congrats, Lori! We are so happy for you!

Call for Submissions

May 8, 2012

ECWC alumna, Cristina Querrer, is the Editor and Founder of the new online art and literary magazine The Manila Envelope. The Manila Envelope is currently seeking submissions for their summer issue, so get those submissions ready! They are in particular need of nonfiction submissions at this time.

Congrats to Cristina on this new venture and good luck to all those who submit!